Henderson-Massey Local Board






Minutes of a meeting of the Henderson-Massey Local Board held in the Council Chamber, Civic Building Level 2, 6 Henderson Valley Road, Henderson on Thursday, 3 October 2013 at 6.32pm.





Vanessa Neeson, JP




Deputy Chairperson

Assid Corban, OBE, JP





Brenda Brady, JP





Peter Chan, JP





Ross Dallow, MNZM, QPM, NZSSM (Erebus), JP





Warren Flaunty, QSM





Tracy Kirkley





Leo Nobilo, JP





Henderson-Massey Local Board

03 October 2013




1          Welcome


Chairperson Vanessa Neeson led the meeting in prayer.


2          Apologies


There were no apologies.


3          Declaration of Interest


Members are reminded of the need to be vigilant to stand aside from decision making when a conflict arises between their role as a member and any private or other external interest they might have.


At its meeting on 17 May 2012, the Henderson Massey Local Board resolved to record any possible conflicts of interest in a register for publication on the agenda.


Board Member

Organisation / Position

Member Vanessa Neeson, JP


Keep Waitakere Beautiful – Local Board Rep

BK & VS Neeson Ltd – Director

Member Assid Corban,

OBE, JP, (Deputy Chairman)

Waitakere Licensing Trust - Trustee

Corban Estate Arts Trust - Trustee

Henderson Bowls – Patron

Member Brenda Brady, JP

Keep Waitakere Beautiful – Independent Trustee

Safer West Community Trust  - Trustee

Member Peter Chan, JP

Cantonese Opera Society of New Zealand

Auckland Chinese Environment Protection Association (ACEPA) – Advisor

New Zealand China Business Association – (NZCBA)

Member Ross Dallow, MNZM, QPM, NZSSM (Erebus), JP

Don Oliver Youth Sports Foundation – Founding Chairman

Hobsonville Heritage Trust - Chairman

West Auckland Trust Services – Director

The Trusts Stadium - Chairman

Waitakere City Athletic Club – Life member

Waitakere Licensing Trust  - Trustee

Member Warren Flaunty, QSM

Rodney Local Board - Elected member

Upper Harbour Local Board - Elected member

Waitemata District Health Board - Elected member

Waitakere Licensing Trust - Trustee

Trusts Community Foundation - Director

Massey Birdwood Settlers Association - Member

Massey Matters – landlord; board member

West Auckland Hospice – Trustee

NorsGA Properties Limited - Director

Member Tracy Kirkley

Healthlink Waitakere – Employee

Member Leo Nobilo, JP

Te Atatu Community House – Committee Member

Te Atatu RSA

Te Atatu Bowling Club

Te Atatu Lions Club

Te Atatu Residents & Ratepayers Association

Avondale Bowling Club

Avondale Jockey Club

Waitakere Grey Power – Public Relations Officer

Taipari Strand Voluntary Maintenance Committee

Keep Waitakere Beautiful (KWB)

Last Updated: 6 June 2013


There were no changes to the register.


4          Confirmation of Minutes


Resolution number HM/2013/224

MOVED by Member BA Brady, seconded by Member L Nobilo:  

That the Henderson-Massey Local Board:

a)         Confirms the ordinary minutes of its meeting, held on Thursday, 19 September 2013, as a true and correct record.



5          Leave of Absence


There were no leaves of absence.


6          Acknowledgements


The Chairperson acknowledged the passing of Sam Corban.


The Chairperson acknowledged Deputy Mayor Penny Hulse for her unwavering support for the west and in particular to Henderson-Massey Local Board. We know that it’s not been easy spreading herself so thinly as a deputy mayor but she has always been there for us.


Member Brady acknowledged the hard work of the Chairperson, Vanessa Neeson.


The Henderson Massey local board acknowledges the following staff members and appreciates the hard work put in by them since November 2010:

Sharlene Riley, Karen Lyons, Megan Tyler, Glenn Boyd, Brett Lane, Riya Seth, Busola Martins, Emma Joyce, Linda Smith, Rachel Wilson, Mark Allen, Sharleen Grounds, Wendy Kjestrup, Keith Williams, David Rose, Mark Purdie, Chris Baldock, Alison Lees, Frances Martin, Antonina Georgetti, Sharon Davies , Andrew Pickering, Owena Schuster, Michael Riley, Grant Jennings, Helen Biffin, Graeme Davies, Tracy Hodder, Sarah Natac, Huw Male-Hill, Tracy Haggo, Barbara Cade, Tony Rea, Brya Taylor, Kim Conway, Paul Prestidge, Pepe Sapolu-Reweti, Naomi Singer, Melissa Walen, Michael Alofa, Mark Maxlow, Michelle Knudsen, Donna Cooper, Richard Cole, Jo Brewster, Marion Read, Mirla Edmondson, Paul Edwards, Gabrielle Gofton, Mary Crosbie, Kate Meacham, Andrew Wood, Jan Brown, Roma Leota, Brenda Radford, Richard Mann, Tracy Bell, Eryn Shields, Douglas Sadlier, Kerry Harrington, Kim Hammond, Margaret Mincham, Phillipa Knox, Roscoe Webb, Claire Richardson, Andrew McKenzie, Richard Saunders, Jack Burton, Tua Viliamu, Janna Gilligan, David Warburton and Doug MacKay.




7          Petitions


There were no petitions.


8          Deputations



Lippy Chalmers - Ranui Community House


Resolution number HM/2013/225

MOVED by Member BA Brady, seconded by Member TJ Kirkley:  

That the Henderson-Massey Local Board:

a)            Receives the deputation from the Ranui Community House.

b)            Leases the area of 474 Swanson Road, Ranui, currently occupied by the Ranui Library to the Ranui Community House when Ranui Library vacates the premises.

c)            Notes that before becoming a library the space was part of the Ranui Community House.

d)            Endorses the line item in the budget of $84,000 approximately for the renovation of 474 Swanson Rd.




9          Public Forum


There was no public forum.


10        Extraordinary Business


There was no extraordinary business.


11        Notices of Motion


There were no notices of motion.



Henderson-Massey Board Plan Achievements and Progress Report
(July 2011 - August 2013)


Secretarial Note:         Updated attachment of the report was tabled at the meeting, a copy of which can be viewed at the Auckland Council website.


Resolution number HM/2013/226

MOVED by Member AK Corban, seconded by Member RP Dallow:  

That the Henderson-Massey Local Board:

a)      Receives the Henderson-Massey Local Board Achievements and Progress Report (July 2011 – August 2013) as tabled at the meeting.





Trust Stadium Athletic Track Repairs


Resolution number HM/2013/227

MOVED by Member AK Corban, seconded by Member WW Flaunty:  

That the Henderson-Massey Local Board:

a)            Resolves to make a one off grant to the Trusts Arena of up to $46,000 to assist with remedial works required to bring the Douglas Track and Field all weather track up to IAAF certification standards

b)            Requests Local and Sports Parks West utilize budget from their CAPEX underspends and project deferral budget areas to support the grant of up to $46,000, and that they have oversight of any associated invoicing

c)            Identifies to Regional Facilities Auckland that the all weather track at Douglas track and field will need full replacement within the next year or two and the replacement needs to be funded through Regional Facilities Auckland’s budget.



Secretarial note:          Member Ross Dallow declared conflict of interest with the item and took no part in the discussion or voting on the matter.



6          Acknowledgements (continued)

The Chairperson acknowledged Board members for their work.

The Chairperson again acknowledged staff members for their work and invited them for morning tea at Council Chambers on Thursday, 10 October 2013.



14        Consideration of Extraordinary Items


There was no consideration of extraordinary items.  






6.51 pm                                              The Chairperson thanked Members for their attendance and attention to business and declared the meeting closed.