Youth Advisory Panel






Minutes of a meeting of the Youth Advisory Panel held in the Reception Lounge, Auckland Town Hall, Level 2, 301-305 Queen Street, Auckland on Monday, 19 October 2015 at 6.31pm.





Flora Apulu


Deputy Chairperson

Alex Johnston



Janice Auva'a



Lit Wei Chin



Savannah Cox



Loniana Fifita



Danielle Goh



Matthew Greive



Georgina Halstead



Antony Kapeli-Sua



Maggy Liu



Ben Moimoi



Caroline Paepae



Lesina Ponifasio



Micah Stininato



Marek Townley



Mackenzie Valgre



Sam Yoon



Aileen  Zhou


Liaison Councillor

Linda Cooper, JP






Mosa Mafile'o







Mark Thomas, Orākei Local Board Deputy Chairperson





Youth Advisory Panel

19 October 2015



1          Apologies


Resolution number YOU/2015/47

MOVED by Chairperson F Apulu, seconded by Member C Paepae:  

That the Youth Advisory Panel:

a)           accept the apology from Member M Mafile'o for absence.





2          Declaration of Interest


Members are reminded of the need to be vigilant to stand aside from decision making when a conflict arises between their role as a member and any private or other external interest they might have.


There were no declarations of interest.



3          Confirmation of Minutes


Resolution number YOU/2015/48

MOVED by Chairperson F Apulu, seconded by Member M Valgre:  

That the Youth Advisory Panel:

a)           confirm the ordinary minutes of its meeting, held on Monday, 14 September 2015, as a true and correct record.





4          Extraordinary Business


There was no extraordinary business.




Panel Membership - Orākei


Mark Thomas, Orākei Local Board Deputy Chairperson was present for this item.



Resolution number YOU/2015/49

MOVED by Chairperson F Apulu, seconded by Deputy Chairperson A Johnston:  

That the Youth Advisory Panel:

a)      note the co-option of Matthew Greive as the representative for Orākei until June 2016.

b)      note that a copy of this report has been forwarded to the Mayor.










Youth Advisory Panel - Work Programme Update


Resolution number YOU/2015/50

MOVED by Chairperson F Apulu, seconded by Member D Goh:  

That the Youth Advisory Panel:

a)      approve the Youth Advisory Panel work programme for the 2015/2016 year, with the amendment from Community Development, Arts and Culture to Arts, Community and Events taking effect from 20 October.




6.53pm - The Chairperson vacated the Chair and the Deputy Chairperson assumed the Chair.




Empowered Communities Approach and Local Youth Voices


Chairperson Flora Apulu and Members Ben Moimoi and Mackenzie Valgre and tabled the following feedback from the local Youth voices workshop:


  • safe practice around information being kept secure
  • young innovators collective – connect young people to local youth voices
  • we don’t know what an empowered communities approach is – we need youth friendly communication
  • keeping connected with local boards and with the council in the absence of a facilitator
  • stability for local youth voices in a changing council landscape, create a plan that ensures stability and flexibility
  • each local youth voice group to provide advice to the council in their next meeting.



Member D Goh left the meeting at 7.00 pm.

Member D Goh returned to the meeting at 7.04 pm.



Resolution number YOU/2015/51

MOVED by Deputy Chairperson A Johnston, seconded by Member A Zhou:  

That the Youth Advisory Panel:

a)      note the updates and feedback tabled at the meeting from the Empowered Communities Approach working party on the empowered local youth voice forum.

b)      agree that the final recommendations from the workshop be communicated to the appropriate Council committees.




7.15pm – The Chairperson resumed the Chair.











Working Party and Sub-committee Updates


Resolution number YOU/2015/52

MOVED by Member A Kapeli-Sua, seconded by Member M Liu:  

That the Youth Advisory Panel:

a)      thank the working party and sub-committee leads for their updates.

b)      forward sub-committee and working party updates for the attention of respective local youth voice mechanisms.

c)      appoint new members to working parties, as follows:

                i.             Communications Sub-Committee – Members M Townley, M Liu and D Goh

               ii.             Youth Awards 2015 Working Party – Chairperson Flora Apulu, Members T Kapeli-Sua, M Valgre, M Liu, A Zhou, M Stininato, J Auva’a, L Fifita, S Cox, G Halstead, L Chin, L Ponifasio and M Greive.

             iii.             Auckland is My Playground Steering Group – Members M Stininato and B Moimoi.

             iv.             Empowered Communities Approach Working Party – Chairperson F Apulu, Members M Mafileo, J Auva’a, L Chin, B Moimoi and M Valgre.

               v.            Mayor’s Youth Traction Plan and Youth Connections Liaison – Member S Yoon.

             vi.            Community Summit Working Party – Chairperson F Apulu, Deputy Chairperson A Johnston, Members A Sua, M Mafileo, and M Greive.







Update from Youth Advisory Panel Members


Resolution number YOU/2015/53

MOVED by Member J Auva'a, seconded by Member S Cox:  

That the Youth Advisory Panel:

a)      note the updates from the panel members.





10        Consideration of Extraordinary Items


There was no consideration of extraordinary items.  






7.43 pm                                              The Chairperson thanked Members for their attendance and attention to business and declared the meeting closed.