Draft Local Board Plan Hearings

Waitākere Ranges Local Board






Minutes of a meeting of the Draft Local Board Plan Hearings Waitākere Ranges Local Board held in the Waitākere Ranges Local Board Office, 39 Glenmall Place, Glen Eden on Thursday, 3 August 2017 at 10.00am.





Greg Presland




Deputy Chairperson

Saffron Toms





Sandra Coney, QSO





Neil Henderson





Steve Tollestrup





Denise Yates, JP















Waitākere Ranges Local Board

03 August 2017



1          Welcome


The Chairperson opened the meeting and welcomed those present.


2          Apologies


Resolution number WTK/2017/89

MOVED by Chairperson G Presland, seconded by Deputy Chairperson S Toms:  

That the Waitākere Ranges Local Board:

a)         accept the apology from Member Sandra Coney for lateness and Chair Greg Presland for early departure.



3          Declaration of Interest

Members were reminded of the need to be vigilant to stand aside from decision making when a conflict arises between their role as a member and any private or other external interest they might have.

Specifically members are asked to identify any new interests they have not previously disclosed, an interest that might be considered as a conflict of interest with a matter on the agenda.


The following are declared interests of the Waitakere Ranges Local Board.


 Board Member

Organisation / Position

Sandra Coney

·       Waitemata District Health Board – Elected Member

·       Women’s Health Action Trust – Patron

·       New Zealand Society of Genealogists – Member

·       New Zealand Military Defence Society – Member

·       Cartwright Collective – Member

·       Titirangi RSA – Member

·       Portage Trust – Member

·       West Auckland Trust Services - Director

Neil Henderson

·       Portage Trust – Elected Member

·       West Auckland Trust Services (WATS) Board – Trustee/Director

·       Whau River Catchment Trust - Employee

Greg Presland

·       Lopdell House Development Trust – Trustee

·       Titirangi Residents & Ratepayers Group – Committee Member 

·       Whau Coastal Walkway Environmental Trust – Trustee

·       Combined Youth Services Trust – Trustee

·       Glen Eden Bid - Member

Steve Tollestrup

·       Waitakere Licensing Trust – Elected Member

·       Waitakere Task force on Family Violence – Appointee

Saffron Toms


Denise Yates

·       Friends of Arataki Incorporated – Committee member

·       EcoMatters Environment Trust – Trustee


Member Denise Yates declared an interest in submission 4595 – Ecomattters Environment Trust

Member Steve Tollestrup declared an interest in submission 5996 – Alcohol Healthwatch


Member appointments

Board members are appointed to the following bodies. In these appointments the board members represent Auckland Council.


Board Member

Organisation / Position

Sandra Coney

·           Friends of Arataki Incorporated – Trustee

Neil Henderson

·           Friends of Arataki Incorporated – Trustee

·           Rural Advisory Panel - Member

Steve Tollestrup

·           Glen Eden Business Improvement District

Greg Presland

·           Glen Eden Business Improvement District (alternate)

Saffron Toms

·           Ark in the Park


Member Coney joined the meeting at 10.07am



Draft Waitākere Ranges Local Board Plan 2017 Hearing




Resolution number WTK/2017/90

MOVED by Member D Yates, seconded by Member S Tollestrup:  

That the Waitākere Ranges Local Board:

a)      receive submissions and feedback on the draft Waitākere Ranges Local Board Plan 2017.

b)      thank the following submitters who spoke in support of their submission to the draft Waitākere Ranges Local Board Plan 2017.

1.            Lynette Adams - Sport Waitakere (5608)

2.            Louise Tanguay - Individual (0141)

3.            Christine Rose - Maui and Hector’s Dolphin Defenders NZ Inc (4761) and Public Transport Users Association (2843)

4.            Carolynne Stone and Janet Clews - Oratia Native Wildlife (4499)  and Safer West Community Trust (7440)

5.            Jane Hepburn and Paul Goldsmith - Oratia Heritage Society Inc (5001)

6.            Clive Sligo - Auckland Catholic Tramping Club (8158)

7.            Norm Judd - Waitakere Track User Forum (8157)

8.            Damon Birchfield and Tam Alexander – EcoMatters Environment Trust (4595)

9.            Jim Eyre and Peter Hendy – Waitakere Tramline Society (3602)

10.         Robert Woolf – Waitakere Forest & Bird (4891)

11.         Jane Gilmour – Literacy Waitakere (5185)

12.         Nathan Cowie on behlf of Dr Nicki Jackson – Alcohol Healthwatch (5996)

13.         John Lima – Northern Football Federation (2054)

14.         Heather and Jerry Tanguay – Individual (8156)





Secretarial Note:  Chair Presland vacated the chair and left the meeting during submission 4891 – Waitakere Forest and Bird at 12.16pm and Deputy Chair Saffron Toms assumed the chair.




Member S Tollestrup left the meeting at 12.20 pm.




Member S Tollestrup returned to the meeting at 12.27 pm.




Secretarial Note:  A copy of the tabled documents have been placed on the file copy of the minutes and can be viewed at the Auckland Council website.




a     5608 - Sport Waitakere - additional information

b     0141 - Louise Tanguay - additional information

c    4499 - Oratia Native Wildlife

d    3602 - Waitakere Tramline Society

e     5996 - Alcohol Healthwatch - additional information

f     8156 - Heather and Jerry Tanguay - additional information



1.19 pm                                              The Chairperson thanked Members for their attendance and attention to business and declared the meeting closed.