Waitākere Ranges Local Board






Minutes of an extraordinary meeting of the Waitākere Ranges Local Board held in the Waitākere Ranges Local Board Office, 39 Glenmall Place, Glen Eden on Thursday, 12 November 2020 at 4.01pm.


As required under the COVID-19 Response (Urgent Management Measures) Legislation Act 2020,

either a recording of the meeting or a written summary will be published on the Auckland Council






Greg Presland


Deputy Chairperson

Saffron Toms



Mark Allen



Michelle Clayton



Sandra Coney, QSO



Ken Turner



Waitākere Ranges Local Board

12 November 2020




1          Welcome


Chair Greg Presland opened the meeting and welcomed those present.



2          Apologies


There were no apologies.



3          Declaration of Interest


Members were reminded of the need to be vigilant to stand aside from decision making when a conflict arises between their role as a member and any private or other external interest they might have.

            Specifically, members are asked to identify any new interests they have not previously disclosed, an interest that might be considered as a conflict of interest with a matter on the agenda.

The following are declared interests of the Waitākere Ranges Local Board:

Board Member


Mark Allen

-   Community Waitākere – Executive Officer

-   Bethells Valley Fire – Senior Fire Fighter

-   Waitākere Licensing Trust – Trustee

Michelle Clayton

-   Glen Eden Community House – Treasurer

-   Glen Eden Residents’ Association – Treasurer

-   Waitākere Community Organisation Grants Scheme (COGS) – Committee Member

-   The Personal Advocacy and Safeguarding Adults Trust – Trustee

-   Glen Eden Returned Services Association (RSA) – Member

-   Glen Eden Railway Trust – Member

Sandra Coney

-   Waitematā District Health Board – Elected Member & Chair of Hospital Advisory Committee

-   Women’s Health Action Trust – Patron

-   New Zealand Society of Genealogists – Member

-   New Zealand Military Defence Society – Member

-   Cartwright Collective – Member

Greg Presland

-   Whau Coastal Walkway Environmental Trust – Trustee

-   Combined Youth Services Trust – Trustee

-   Glen Eden Bid – Member

-   Titirangi Ratepayers and Residents Association – Member

-   Waitākere Ranges Protection Society - Member

-   Titirangi RSA - Member

-   Maungakiekie Golf ClubMember

Saffron Toms

-   Titirangi Community House – Secretary

-   Huia-Cornwallis Residents and Ratepayers Association – Committee Member

Ken Turner

-   Huia-Cornwallis Residents and Ratepayers Association – Committee Member

Member appointments

Board members are appointed to the following bodies. In these appointments the board members represent Auckland Council:

External community group or organisation



Aircraft Noise Community Consultative Group

Mark Allen

Saffron Toms

Ark in the Park

Mark Allen

Sandra Coney

Friends of Arataki and Waitākere Regional Parkland Incorporated

Michelle Clayton

Sandra Coney

Glen Eden Business Improvement District (Glen Eden Business Association)

Michelle Clayton

Greg Presland

Glen Eden Playhouse Theatre Trust

Ken Turner

Mark Allen

Te Uru Waitākere Contemporary Gallery

Mark Allen

Saffron Toms and Sandra Coney

The Rural Advisory Panel

Ken Turner

Saffron Toms



4          Leave of Absence


There were no leaves of absence.



5          Acknowledgements


There were no acknowledgements.



6          Petitions


There were no petitions.



7          Deputations


There were no deputations.



8          Public Forum


There was no public forum.



9          Extraordinary Business


There was no extraordinary business.




Adoption of the Waitākere Ranges Local Board Plan 2020


Resolution number WTK/2020/136

MOVED by Chairperson G Presland, seconded by Member M Allen:  

That the Waitākere Ranges Local Board:

a)         adopt the Waitākere Ranges Local Board Plan 2020 as set out in Attachment A of the agenda report, subject to the addition of the following initiative:

i)          Outcome 7: We have infrastructure and facilities that support and enhance our neighbourhoods and town centres
Objective: Improvements to the transport network
Initiative: Continue to investigate opportunities and advocate for developing shuttle bus services.

b)        delegate authority to Chair Greg Presland and Deputy Chair Saffron Toms of the Waitākere Ranges Local Board, to approve any minor edits to the Waitākere Ranges Local Board Plan 2020, that may be necessary prior to publication.




Note:   Pursuant to Standing Order 1.9.7 Member Ken Turner requested his dissenting vote        be recorded.



11        Consideration of Extraordinary Items


There were no extraordinary items.   





4.26 pm                                              The Chairperson thanked Members for their attendance and attention to business and declared the meeting closed.