Kōmiti Whakarite Mahere / Planning Committee






Minutes of an extraordinary meeting of the Planning Committee held in the Reception Lounge, Auckland Town Hall, 301-305 Queen Street, Auckland on Thursday, 24 June 2021 at 1.10pm.





Cr Chris Darby


Deputy Chair

Cr Josephine Bartley



Cr Dr Cathy Casey



Deputy Mayor Cr Bill Cashmore



Cr Pippa Coom



Cr Linda Cooper, JP

Until 2.59pm, Item 8


Cr Angela Dalton



Cr Christine Fletcher, QSO

Via electronic link


Mayor Hon Phil Goff, CNZM, JP



Cr Shane Henderson

Until 2.09pm, Item 8


Cr Richard Hills



Cr Tracy Mulholland



Cr Daniel Newman, JP

From 1.22pm, Item 8

Until 2.26pm, Item 8


Cr Greg Sayers



Cr Sharon Stewart, QSM

Via electronic link


Cr Wayne Walker



Cr John Watson



IMSB Member Glenn Wilcox (alternate)

Until 3.08pm, Item 8


Cr Paul Young

Via electronic link





Cr Efeso Collins




Cr Alf Filipaina




IMSB Member Hon Tau Henare




IMSB Member Liane Ngamane




Cr Desley Simpson, JP







Adrienne Young-Cooper

Chair, Auckland Transport Board


Wayne Donnelly

Deputy Chair, Auckland Transport Board





Planning Committee

24 June 2021




1          Apologies


Resolution number PLA/2021/59

MOVED by Cr C Darby, seconded by Cr W Walker:  

That the Planning Committee:

a)          accept the apologies from Cr E Collins, Cr A Filipaina and Cr D Simpson for absence on council business, IMSB Member T Henare and IMSB Member L Ngamane for absence, and Cr S Henderson for early departure.


Electronic Attendance

Resolution number PLA/2021/60

MOVED by Cr C Darby, seconded by Cr G Sayers:  

That the Planning Committee:

b)         approve the electronic attendance under Standing Order 3.3.3 for:

·       Cr C Fletcher

·       Cr S Stewart

·       Cr P Young




2          Declaration of Interest


There were no declarations of interest.



3          Confirmation of Minutes


There were no minutes for confirmation.



4          Petitions


There was no petitions section.



5          Public Input


There was no public input section.



6          Local Board Input


There was no local board input section.



7          Extraordinary Business


There was no extraordinary business.





2021-2031 Regional Land Transport Plan


A document was tabled and a presentation was provided. Copies have been placed on the official minutes and are available on the Auckland Council website as minutes attachments.


Adrienne Young-Cooper, Chairperson and Wayne Donnelly, Deputy Chairperson spoke to the committee in support of the item.


Cr D Newman entered the meeting at 1.22 pm.
Cr S Henderson retired from the meeting at 2.09 pm.


Note:   under Standing Order 1.4.2 a), Cr D Newman gave a personal statement as follows:

The councillor requested the committee note his strong opposition to the government’s decision to rescope the Mill Road project, which he believes will significantly compromise the ability to accommodate future residential and business land development in Drury; severely exacerbate congestion on both the state highway and local road networks; and undermine the local community’s confidence in the ability of Auckland Transport, Waka Kotahi and KiwiRail to deliver a transport network that enables resilience, mobility and choice for South Auckland residents and commuters.

Cr D Newman’s personal statement was supported by Deputy Mayor B Cashmore Cr A Dalton, Cr C Fletcher, Cr T Mulholland, Cr S Stewart and Cr P Young.


Cr D Newman retired from the meeting at 2.26 pm.
IMSB Member G Wilcox left the meeting at 2.36pm.
IMSB Member G Wilcox returned to the meeting at 2.47pm.
Cr L Cooper retired from the meeting at 2.59 pm.
IMSB Member G Wilcox retired from the meeting at 3.08pm.


Note:   changes to the original recommendation were incorporated by adding new clause d), amending clause e) and adding subclause e) viii), with the agreement of the meeting.


Resolution number PLA/2021/61

MOVED by Cr C Darby, seconded by Mayor P Goff:  

That the Planning Committee:

a)          note that the final Regional Land Transport Plan 2021-2031 has been endorsed by the Regional Transport Committee and recommended to you for its endorsement. 

b)         note the changes from the draft Regional Land Transport Plan reflected in the final Regional Land Transport Plan 2021-2031 as outlined in this report.

c)          endorse the final 2021-31 Regional Land Transport Plan for submitting to the Auckland Transport Board for final approval.

d)         note Auckland Council’s commitment to Te Tāruke-ā-Tāwhiri to halve emissions by 2030 requires further change to transport and land use policy and the mix of transport investment.

e)          note that, as requested by the Planning Committee on 11 March, council and Auckland Transport staff are jointly developing a Transport Emissions Reduction Plan for Auckland that will identify the pathways to support the required emissions reductions reflected in Te Tāruke-ā-Tāwhiri, which includes:

i)           investigating the mix of future complementary transport investments that support emissions reduction;

ii)         investigating vehicle fleet and fuel decarbonisation;

iii)        investigating land transport pricing reform;

iv)        investigating urban growth management;

v)         investigating road space reallocation;

vi)        investigating behaviour change;

vii)      investigating addressing inequities arising from the impacts of decarbonisation,

viii)     reporting the approach to the Transport Emissions Reduction Plan for Auckland to Environment and Climate Change Committee and the Auckland Transport Board in August 2021 with a progress update by December 2021.  



Note:   Pursuant to standing order 1.8.6 the following councillors requested their dissenting votes be recorded:

·       Cr S Stewart

·       Cr P Young



a     24 June 2021, Planning Committee: Item 8 - 2021-2031 Regional Land Transport Plan, presentation

b     24 June 2021, Planning Committee: Item 8 - 2021-2031 Regional Land Transport Plan, Auckland Transport responses to written questions from the committee on the draft RLTP 2021-2031, May 2021




9          Consideration of Extraordinary Items


There was no consideration of extraordinary items.





4.03 pm                                              The Chairperson thanked Members for their attendance and attention to business and declared the meeting closed.